Monday, January 26, 2009

Australia Honours Kim Beazley & Stephanie Rice

stephanie-rice-2 The 2009 Australia Day Honours List has included Stephanie Rice and Kim Beazley.

Stephanie Rice was awarded an OAM for her outstanding performances at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

Kim Beazley was awarded an AC for his services to politics.


Sunday, January 25, 2009

Prof. Mick Dodson is 2009 Australian of the Year

Mick-Dodson Well the pundits were right. Professor Mick Dodson has been named the 2009 Australian of the Year. Born on 10 April 1950, in Katherine, Northern Territory, he graduated from Melbourne’s Monash University in 1978.

A vigorous defender of human rights, Professor Dodson was Australia’s first Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner with the Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission. In 2002 he was appointed the first Indigenous Chair at the Australian National University.

We would like to congratulate Professor Dodson on being named Australian of the Year and for his efforts in pursing indigenous rights in this country and world-wide.

The other finalists for this Australia Day award were:

  • Glenn McGrath AM (Fundraiser)
  • Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu (Indigenous Singer/Songwriter)
  • Ivan Copley (Indigenous Community Worker)
  • Peter Cundall AM (Gardening Expert)
  • Dr Berhan Ahmed (African-Australian Community Leader)
  • Dr Penny Flett (Geriatrics Specialist)
  • Bronwyn Sheehan (Literacy Advocate)

What does Australia Day Commemorate?

It is very Australian to not actually know what Australia Day commemorates. Take our quick quiz below and see how you fare. To find out why we celebrate Australia Day on 26 January, you can read about the history of Australia Day here.

Get This - Survey Results -